Editor’s Note

“Premier leaders…”

Lessons straight from one of the nation's most prestigious business schools, “The Strategist” reveals leadership secrets only available to premier executives—until now.
Scribd Editor

From the Publisher

Based on her legendary course at Harvard Business School, acclaimed professor Cynthia A. Montgomery shows executives how to create business strategies that produce long-lasting success. Montgomery combines useful frameworks, practical tools, and rich case studies into an engaging narrative that will satisfy readers' desire for a book that is authoritative, actionable, and accessible. The strong voice and dynamic writing will appeal to a broad range of leaders in every industry, whether a member of the Fortune 500, a small business, or a startup. Perfect for fans of Clayton M. Christensen The Innovator's Dilemma and Jim Collins' Good to Great, Montgomery's The Strategist offers readers the chance to command success in business and in life.
Published: HarperAudio on
ISBN: 9780062194190
Unabridged
Listen on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Strategist: Be the Leader Your Business Needs
With a 30 day free trial you can listen to one free audiobook per month

    Related Articles

    Inc.
    2 min read
    Leadership & Mentoring

    Tech is Disrupting HR But the Human Element Remains Critical

    Technology is disrupting human resources (HR), and, in most cases, for the better. In a recent report on HR technology, Josh Bersin, principal and founder of Bersin by Deloitte, predicts the HR technology industry “is on the precipice of a total reinvention.” The pace of change has been accelerating since 2010, when the market began “steadily racing to the cloud.” Advances in HR technology are keeping pace with—and in some cases driving changes in the strategic concerns of growing businesses. Emphasis has shifted from talent management through integrated processes and systems, to people manag
    Entrepreneur
    2 min read
    Leadership & Mentoring

    9 Ways to Become a Better Leader

    Encourage employees to disagree with you. Companies get into trouble when everyone is afraid to speak truth to power. "If all you hear is how great you're doing, that should be a danger sign," says executive coach Ray Williams. Don't micromanage. Empower the people below you, then leave them alone. "A good part of leadership is stepping back," says Bill Pasmore, senior vice president at the Center for Creative Leadership. "A good leader leads from front and back." When people err, don't destroy them.But make sure they learn whatever lessons there are to be learned from their mistakes. Show com
    Inc.
    2 min read
    Tech

    Gabriel Flateman

    As told to JON FINE Why only one mattress? There’s all this choice in the mattress industry and much of it is wildly mundane. When the problem is an overabundance of choices, the answer is pretty simple: Focus on one core thing that works for many people. With T-shirts, I wouldn’t advise the same strategy, because there is inherent choice in fashion. It’s got to stem from user need. But there is a lot of opportunity, in efficiency and clarity of purpose, gained by making and marketing one product. Still, there are long-established companies in your business. How do you chip away at them? W