Start Listening

The Last Ember: A Novel

Written by
Narrated by
Ratings:
14 hours

Summary

In the tradition of The Rule of Four and Daniel Silva’s Gabriel Allon novels, The Last Ember is a gripping literary thriller about the high-stakes search for the legendary Temple Menorah, which was stolen from the Second Temple in Jerusalem 2,000 years ago and lost to civilization since.

A search for a priceless artifact stolen from the Second Temple in Jerusalem becomes a race against time, terrorism, politics, and the past.

Jonathan Marcus is a promising young archeologist studying at the American Academy in Rome when a terrible accident results in a fellow student's death and Jonathan' expulsion. He abandons archeology for the law, becoming a skillful advocate for unscrupulous antiquities dealers.

When Jonathan’s firm sends him to Rome to discredit the testimony of a prominent U.N. antiquities official, a chance reunion leads to a hunt for the legendary Tabernacle Menorah: solid gold, eight feet high, stolen 2,000 years ago and never recovered. As Jonathan and his friend scour Rome’s ancient sites for hints to its whereabouts, they quickly realize they are not alone and the precious menorah is a key to controlling history itself.

Read on the Scribd mobile app

Download the free Scribd mobile app to read anytime, anywhere.