• audiobook

From the Publisher

For fans of Tana French and The Silent Wife, THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a chilling debut thriller hailed by Sophie Hannah as "brilliant" about one murder's devastating ripple effects.
 
Twenty years ago, college student Dani Lancing was kidnapped and brutally murdered. The killer was never found. Dani's family never found peace.

Thrust into an intense devastation that nearly destroys their marriage, Patty and Jim Lancing struggle to deal with their harrowing loss. Patty is fanatically obsessed with the cold case; consumed by every possible clue or suspect no matter how far-fetched, she goes to horrifying lengths to help clarify the past.  Meanwhile, Jim has become a shell of his former self, broken down and haunted-sometimes literally-by his young daughter's death. Dani's childhood sweetheart, Tom, handles his own grief every day on the job-he's become a detective intent on solving murders of other young women, and hopes to one day close Dani's case himself.

Then everything changes when Tom finds a promising new lead. As lies and secrets are unearthed, the heartbreaking truth behind Dani's murder is finally revealed.
THE LAST WINTER OF DANI LANCING is a shockingly disturbing and deeply powerful debut, and P.D. Viner immediately joins the ranks of Tana French, A. S. A. Harrison, and Gillian Flynn.




From the Hardcover edition.
Published: Random House Audio on
ISBN: 9780804149211
Unabridged
Listen on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Last Winter of Dani Lancing: A Novel
With a 30 day free trial you can listen to one free audiobook per month

    Related Articles

    TIME
    2 min read

    Crimes, Cover-Ups and Competition

    SARAH BEGLEY TWO MYSTERIES ARE AT THE HEART of Hideo Yokoyama’s Six Four: the 14-year-old cold case of a young girl’s murder and the recent disappearance of protagonist Yoshinobu Mikami’s teenage daughter. Yet most of the suspense in this thriller has to do with bureaucratic maneuvering. Mikami, 46, has spent most of his career in criminal investigations at a prefectural police headquarters, where he earned a reputation as a tough detective. But when the novel opens, he’s become press director, an administrative job he did not seek and one he finds exasperating. Between corralling unruly jou
    TIME
    2 min read

    Four Roads Diverge in a Wood

    SARAH BEGLEY CERTAIN BOOKS LEAVE READERS FEELING THEY KNOW EVERY MINUTE detail of a character’s inner life, as if they were lifelong companions and daily confidants. Paul Auster’s massive new novel, 4 3 2 1, is such a book. The concept behind the 866-page tome boils down to one life, lived four ways. By the end of the first chapter a boy named Archie Ferguson has been born to a New Jersey couple in 1947. Subsequent chapters cycle through four versions of how his life plays out: he grows up in different New Jersey towns, attends different schools and embarks on different adventures and misadv
    TIME
    1 min read

    Crimes of the Heart

    S.B. Like many of his novels, Spanish author Javier Marías’ new book, Thus Bad Begins, isn’t exactly a mystery, though it is mysterious. Here, the 65-year-old perennial Nobel favorite tells the story of Juan de Vere, a young man working for a film director, Eduardo Muriel. The older man assigns his apprentice the task of finding out a secret about a longtime friend. Meanwhile, de Vere is intrigued by the cold relationship between Muriel and his depressed wife Beatriz—at some point in their past, she did something unforgivable, also a secret, and de Vere wants to find out what. Marías (The In