• book

From the Publisher

A Boston Globe Best Book of the Year

In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

 Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

 For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Published: HarperCollins on
ISBN: 9780062390509
List price: $10.99
Read on Scribd mobile: iPhone, iPad and Android.
Availability for The Ex: A Novel
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.

Related Articles

NPR
2 min read
Society

U.S. Marshals Say They've Rounded Up 'The Last Of The Cocaine Cowboys'

Gustavo Falcon's arrest Wednesday was more than a quarter-century in coming. He was indicted on drug-smuggling charges nearly 26 years ago to the day — along with his brother Augusto "Willie" Falcon, their partner Salvador "Sal" Magluta and several other accomplices. Authorities say that between the late 1970s and early '90s, their drug ring conspired to import and distribute about 75 tons of cocaine. And though Willie and Sal were eventually caught and convicted, Gustavo Falcon appeared to disappear entirely from South Florida. "Nobody thought he was in the United States," U.S. Marshals Servi
People
3 min read
Society

Until Death Do Us Part

After dark on Oct. 28, 1962, new parents Mary and Felix Vail left their 3-month-old son with a sitter and headed out on a boat on the Calcasieu River near their home in Lake Charles, La. Vail would later say Mary spotted a stump in the water and fell overboard as he swerved to miss it—and that his desperate attempts to save her failed. When her body washed up two days later, her death was ruled an accidental drowning despite the bruises on her head and neck, the scarf in her mouth and the double-indemnity insurance policy her husband had taken out on the 22-year-old young mother and former hom
People
2 min read

Deadly Friends?

In the halls of New Jersey’s Neptune High School, Sarah Stern would often act out skits with best friends Preston Taylor and Liam McAtasney. The pals had been inseparable since they met growing up on the Jersey Shore; the trio even went to the prom together, with Stern and Taylor as one of the couples in a group that included McAtasney and his date. “They knew each other’s locker combinations,” says classmate Morgan Randall. “They were that close.” So when Stern’s car was found abandoned on a bridge near her home Dec. 3, it wasn’t surprising that Taylor and McAtasney joined the search for the